A place called home

Where is home, is a question which keeps popping up in my head time and again. They say that home is where the heart is, but if your heart is wandering then where is home?

Home, for me, for the longest part of my growing up years was a small cosy city that I grew up in. There was a sense of familiarity with it. All the roads knew where my home was. I saw familiar faces wherever I went. I had friends and family across the city. It was a place which saw me growing up from a talkative child to a somewhat quieter teenager. My essence belonged to that place. But work took me to a more cosmopolitan city. This cosmopolitan city was intimidating at first for me. But slowly it grew on me and I fell in love with it.

My travel took me to different places but coming back home to my cosy corner always felt good. But in the last couple of years, there has been this constant nudging to figure out where home should  eventually be. The cosmopolitan city didn’t quiet feel like home for me. I wanted to live in a place either close to the sea or in the midst of trees. My yearning to be surrounded by nature grew with passing years and it was only becoming stronger. But I still couldn’t zero down on the place I wanted to live. So, where is home, was still the question popping now and again in my head. Most of the times answers come to you when you least expect it. And yes, that’s what happened when my landlord called to inform me that I would have to vacate the current house I am staying in as he is selling it off. A sudden sadness struck me, I didn’t want to leave the house that I have been living in for the past six years. Everything was so familiar and comfortable. This house had seen me through every phase in life and it was always the most comforting place to be. Whenever I came back here, I felt at home. My home was right with me and I was looking for it everywhere. I guess only when you are about to loose something, you realise its value. So, now I know that wherever I will be, my home will be right there with me.

 

 

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Prachi Dokania May 3, 2017 — 4:39 am

    where is home? is a question that haunts all of us every time we are moved form a comfortable job, house, position… nice work!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

